No products in the basket.

Select Page

Karina Fly

2001. Upernavik.

I was born in Ilulissat, baptized here in Upernavik, and I grew up in both places. I have moved to Upernavik now to be with my family and my boyfriend, who I have been with for 5 years.

Right now I am in the process of making the embroideries for my Greenlandic national costume. I think it’s really fun to make it myself. I’m always preoccupied with crafts, I just love to do it. When I’m not at school or at work, I spend most of my time working out at the fire station where I work.

I’ve always spent a lot of time at the fire station because my dad is a firefighter, and because I missed it, I went up there one day and asked if I could work as a firefighter, and then I got the job! I usually say that this is where my heart belongs, so in that way I am pretty much dad’s girl and follow in his footsteps.

I can imagine working as a firefighter in the future as well, but I have applied to start at the Social Pedagogical Seminar (SPS) in Ilulissat. I would like to work as a social worker to start with and maybe further on take an education as a kindergarten teacher.

I don’t think I will live here in the future, because I would rather live in a place where you can do different things. I miss being able to go to a cafe or a bar or work out at the gym and there really isn’t anything like that here. I think I would rather live in Ilulissat, where my parents live now, but it is also not entirely unlikely for me to live here if there is a little more development in this town.